Tudor Aaron Istodor is the new Romanian Shooting Star


Romanian actor Tudor Aaron Istodor is one of the 10 European young talents selected for the 20th edition of European Shooting Stars. He is the 7th Romanian actor to represent his country within the program. Romania was represented, as a result of the nominations made by Romanian Film Promotion, by the following actors and actresses: Maria Popistașu (2007), Anamaria Marinca (2008), Dragoș Bucur (2010), Ana Ularu (2012), Ada Condeescu (2013) and Cosmina Stratan (2014).

The jury of industry experts has selected the ten most gifted performers, that will be presented to film industry, public and international press during the opening weekend of the 67th Berlin International Film Festival (February 9 – 19). The event culminates in the awards ceremony at the Berlinale Palast on Monday, Feb 13 where each talent will be presented with the European Shooting Stars Award donated by Tesiro.

Tudor Aaron Istodor worked with such Romanian directors as Lucian Pintilie, Paul Negoescu and Radu Muntean before graduating from the National University of Drama & Cinematography UNATC in 2009 and has since appeared in three features directed by the French actress Fanny Ardant as well as films by Alexandru Maftei (Miss Christina) and Adrian Sitaru (The Fixer), among others. Apart from extensive work on the stage including at the Godot Cafe Theatre and the Jewish State Theatre in Bucharest, Tudor was cast as Edward II for BBC Two's The Plantagenets TV series. His ”sensitive naturalism and warm humanity” impressed the jury.

In this year’s group of outstanding new talent from Europe the youngest have already been cast in current Foreign Language Oscar submissions: much lauded 21-year-old Zofia Wichłaczfrom Poland in Afterimage by late director Andrzej Wajda and German Shooting Star Louis Hofmann (19), who received numerous awards for his performance in the Danish Oscar submission Land of Mine. An honor shared by charismatic Alessandro Borghi, who starred in the Italian entry Non essere cattivo (Don’t Be Bad) in 2015. Joining them is Dutch actress Hannah Hoekstra, whose ”refined acting skills” earned her success in film, television and theatre alike, with already five Best Actress awards to show for. 

Her fearless acting and his edgy intensity recommended Maruša Majer from Slovenia and Esben Smed from Denmark to stand out among the 26 nominees for European Shooting Star 2017. Portuguese actress Victoria Guerra has already worked on international films with the late director Andrzej Zulawski in Cosmos (2015) and starred beside Mathieu Amalric in À Jamais (2016). Karin Franz Körlof stepped out into the limelight with her critically acclaimed leading role in A Serious Game (2016) by Pernilla August, which premiered at this year’s Berlinale. Likewise the Latvian film Mellow Mud, the debut of soulful and subtle actress Elīna Vaska (22), which won the Crystal Bear for Best Film in the Generation 14plus at the Berlinale 2016.

During the four day Shooting Star event in Berlin (Feb 10 – 13, 2017), the ten actors will take part in a tailormade programme of profile-raising workshops and meetings with influential members of the International Casting Directors Network (ICDN), filmmakers and other important industry players, alongside interviews and photo-shoots with international media. The weekend provides them all with the significant and timely exposure their emerging talent deserves.

Being a European Shooting Star puts them in the first row of young performers to be considered for international productions. Like Danish actor Pilou Asbæk, who first met casting directors Lucinda Syson and Avy Kaufmann during the European Shooting Star event in 2011. Following this important encounter Syson cast him as Pontius Pilate in “Ben Hur” (2016) by director Timur Bekmambetov, while Avy Kaufmann makes him star beside Kirsten Dunst in the psychological drama “Woodshock”, which will be released in 2017.

As member of this year’s jury Lucinda Syson, responsible for casting blockbusters like “Batman Begins” and Matthew Vaughn’s “Kick-Ass”, comments on the importance of the programme: "The event has become one of the most prestigious platforms for discovering and encouraging incredible new talent across Europe and I am honoured to be a part of the jury. My fellow colleagues in the International Casting Directors Network value this event so much as it provides us with a unique opportunity to meet the actors in one place. We can then put them forward for projects whereas we may never have previously considered them.”

Further members of the 2017 jury are: former Shooting Star Dorka Gryllus from Hungary, director Xavier Koller from Switzerland, Portuguese producer Pandora da Cunha Telles and Swedish film critic and writer Jan Lumholdt.

European Film Promotion’s first and most prolific talent platform is financially supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the respective EFP member organisations.

The European Shooting Stars 2017 are supported by the following EFP member organisations: Danish Film Institute, German Films, Istituto Luce Cinecittà (Italy), National Film Centre of Latvia, EYE International (The Netherlands), Polish Film Institute, Instituto do Cinema e do Audiovisual I.P. / ICA (Portugal), Romanian Film Promotion, Slovenian Film Center, Swedish Film Institute.

For more information about the program, please go to www.shooting-stars.eu